'Bad sex' authors list announced

The shortlist for the annual Bad Sex in Fiction Award for the most awkward description of an intimate encounter has been revealed.
Harry Potter actor David Thewlis is among the authors up for the prize, given for crude and tasteless sexual depictions in published literature.
Jeanette Winterson and the late Norman Mailer are also in the running. Iain Hollingshead was the award’s youngest recipient last year for his first novel, Twenty Something.
Now in its 14th year, the prize is awarded by Literary Review magazine in an attempt to discourage authors from writing such accounts.
It is given to the passage considered to be the most redundant in an otherwise excellent novel.
David Thewlis is nominated for his first novel, The Late Hector Kipling, Winterson for The Stone Gods and Mailer for The Castle in the Forest.
The other nominees include Richard Milward’s Apples, Ali Smith for Girl Meets Boy, Gary Shteyngart’s Absurdistan, Christopher Rush for Will and Clare Clark for The Nature of Monsters.
The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London on Tuesday where nominated passages will be read out by actresses.
Previous winners of the bad sex prize include AA Gill, Sebastian Faulks and Tom Wolfe. Wolfe was one of the few who declined to receive his award in person.

BBC NEWS | Entertainment | ‘Bad sex’ authors list announced

One Comment